Beautiful Park, famous people under the name of “Askold’s grave” — the place of many unfortunate things. Here in ancient times was dead and buried Prince Askold, after alternately gave way to the Church, city and German cemeteries, and in the middle of the twentieth century buried the soldiers who died during the liberation of Kiev. Many changes have endured and the Church of St. Nicholas at Askold grave: from the sanctuary to the Park pavilion.
The history of the Park “Askold’s grave”
According to the ancient legend, Askold’s tomb owes its name to the head of the Kiev. Prince Askold was deceived and murdered in 882, and then buried at the place of his death. The cause of the tragedy was the desire of the Novgorod Prince Oleg to take the place of Kievan ruler.
Another name of the area — “Ugric tract” (“Ugorske tract”). It appears QC memo about ugrah, which in ancient times led a nomadic life and set up camp near the Askold grave. Thereafter, the tribe moved West, where he founded his own public education — Hungary. Continue reading
Many interesting discoveries may be waiting for archaeologists, located in the famous `Valley
A group of Italian archaeologists unexpectedly discovered five tombs in the clean sand from the site of the temple built on the West Bank of the Nile during the reign of Amenhotep II (1427 – 1401 BC), reports Ahram Online. Archaeologists involved in these studies will be able to play slot machines for free without registration at an affordable price. The age of the graves was less than the age of the temple itself. According to the Minister of Affairs of antiquities of Egypt Mohammed Ibrahim, burials date back to 1075 – 664 BCE
Each tomb had a deep shaft leading into the burial chamber, where there was a wooden sarcophagus.
Sarcophaguses were painted with black and red paint. Inside the sarcophagus were found the human remains. In the tomb archaeologists also found several vessels, in which the ancient Egyptians used to place the internal organs of the dead.
Part of the vessels was made of limestone, the other of baked clay.
The lids of the vessels were manufactured in the form of heads of the four sons of the Egyptian God Horus: Imsety (with human head), hapy (baboon head), Duamutef (Jackal-headed) and Kobegenova(with head of Falcon). Continue reading
In elec discovered the remains of settlements arising before the destruction of the city by Tamerlan
Under the Dace ended the largest in the history of the Lipetsk region archaeological excavations. Hundreds of unique artifacts, which are more than 500 years, survived in good condition. Now finds are studied by archaeologists. According to scientists, they will allow you to open previously unknown pages of the history of the ancient city.
Unique artifacts were found in elec near Znamensky monastery. Today there is projected the construction of water intake. And the findings were made possible largely due to the fact that lipchane carefully monitored to ensure that before each large-scale construction on the property was carried out archaeological research. But, as recognized by archaeologists themselves, initially not even expected to find in this area any significant. However, the sensation started coming one after another.
So, found in elec cross-encolpion, which is also called a reliquary, since it is kept particles of the relics would have been considered a big success even for such ancient centres as Novgorod, Pskov, Vladimir. According to experts, it belongs to the pre-Mongol period. Earlier on the territory of Central Russia were found fragments of similar crosses. In elec the encolpion is completely preserved. Continue reading